classroom 2093744 1280ELGIN – To help Illinois diversify its workforce, the Illinois State Board of Education has awarded multiple Career and Technical Education (CTE) Education Career Pathways Grants to schools in the district State Senator Cristina Castro (D-Elgin) represents.

“These grants will help schools recruit and support future educators in the Career and Technical Education field by providing them with hands-on learning experiences, mentorships and more,” Castro said. “I am excited to see three schools in the district I represent receive these grants so that they can prioritize funding for CTE development.”

The CTE Education Career Pathways Grants were awarded to 62 schools and vocational centers across the state, totaling almost $2 million. Among those schools are Dundee-Crown High School, Elgin High School and Larkin High School. Currently, only 18% of teachers identify as people of color. ISBE’s CTE Education Career Pathways Grants will help increase the diversity of the CTE teaching profession in Illinois.

Applicants to the CTE Education Pathways Grant program had to submit an implementation plan outlining how they will recruit underrepresented students into education careers. The grant also requires a partnership between grantees and institutions of higher education to ensure students can earn dual credit or other certifications while still in high school.

“CTE includes everything from health sciences to manufacturing, and so much in between,” Castro said. “To truly get the most out of students who choose this path, it is important we have skilled educators who can relate to their students.” 

For a full list of the grant recipients, visit the ISBE website.

Category: News

COVID-19 Resources

COVID19 Updates

Contact Info

District Office:
The Professional Building
164 Division Street, Suite #102
Elgin, IL 60120
847-214-8864 phone
847-214-8867 facsimile

Springfield Office:
121 D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
217-782-7746 phone


  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Find Your Legislator